OUR STORY

夏木の群生。
海の短冊。
淡い夕月。

 

 

"I've been wearing your socks for 3 days straight, I don't even want to take them off!" - Verena

 

"I hate it when the sweater goes into the laundry, I always delay it as long as possible." - Robert

 

 

Gibt es besseres Feedback?

As long as we have been a couple, we have been working together. And the other way around.
And wear excactly the same clothes.
We are EDO, a creative studio dedicated to the production of streetwear and merchandising products (mainly socks produced in Germany) with a high ecological and social focus.

It all started when a production partner and friend from Poland asked us what to do with these three 50-meter rolls of Japanese jersey that were left over after the last client order. So we asked ourselves, why not use our network, our cuts, our own style and our knowledge of all these precious "leftovers" to make products ourselves?

G

O

 

T

O

 

S

H

O

P

That's how EDO was born. First a working title from our initials, it soon became a philosophy: it was a coincidence that the saved Japanese fabrics from the first collection reflected the beautiful colors and mood of a haiku that Elisa read at the time in the Book of Tea by Kakuzō Okakura :

 

A group of summer trees,
a stripe of sea,
a pale evening moon.

 

And of course, we learned about the era that was named after the former name of the city of Tokyo - the longest period of peace in Japanese history. A time commonly associated with the flourishing of art and culture, horticulture, crafts, etc. Then of course we wanted to learn more ...

Even during our studies we had a clear idea that things were going wrong in the fashion industry. Proportionally to the growing knowledge about the history and status quo of the textile industry, this intuition sometimes gives way to outright horror. So we continue to deal with it and embark on a transparent search for better solutions.

 

EDOgoods. Do better.

 

EDO MANIFESTO

EDOGOODS
_OUR STORY

夏の木のクラスター
海を垣間見る
淡い夜の月

„ICH TRAGE SEIT 3 TAGEN DIE SOCKEN, DIE IHR MIR GESCHENKT HABT, ICH WILL DIE NICHT MEHR AUSZIEHEN“ – Verena

 

„ICH HASSE ES, WENN DER PULLI IN DER WÄSCHE IST, ICH ZÖGERE DAS IMMER SO LANGE WIE MÖGLICH RAUS“

 

 

Gibt es schöneres Feedback?

Solange wir ein Paar sind, arbeiten wir schon zusammen. Und anders herum. Und tragen die selben Klamotten.
Mit BLANK GARMENT haben wir eine White-Label-Agentur für Merchandiseprodukte ins Leben gerufen und für viele Firmen oder Bands T-Shirts, Pullis oder auch Socken entworfen und produziert. Solche begeisterten und persönlichen Ausrufe kamen jedoch von Freunden, die Musterteile ergattern konnten – Einzelteile kaufen konnten man damals bei uns nicht.

Dann kam der Tag, als ein Produktionspartner und Freund aus Polen uns fragte, was er denn mit diesen drei 50-Meter-Rollen japanischem Jersey machen soll, die nach dem letzeten Kundenauftrag liegenblieben. Also haben wir uns gefragt, warum wir eigentlich nicht unser Netzwerk, unsere Schnitte, unseren eigenen Stil und unser Wissen über all diese kostbaren „Reste“ nutzen, um selbst Produkte herzustellen?

So wurde EDO geboren. Zuerst ein Arbeitstitel aus unseren Initialen, wurde es bald zu einer Philosophie: der Zufall wollte es, dass die geretteten japanischen Stoffe der ersten Kollektion die schönen Farben und die Stimmung eines Haikus widerspiegelten, den Elisa zu dieser Zeit im Book of Tea von Kakuzō Okakura las:

 

Eine Gruppe Sommerbäume,
ein Streifen Meer,
ein blasser Abendmond.

 

Und natürlich erfuhren wir von der Zeit, die nach dem ehemaligen Namen der Stadt Tokio benannt wurde – der längsten Friedensperiode in der japanischen Geschichte. Eine Zeit, die gemeinhin mit dem Aufblühen von Kunst und Kultur, Gartenbau, Handwerk usw. verbunden wird. Natürlich wollten wir dann mehr lernen …

Das ist die schöne Seite.

Schon im Studium hatten wir eine deutliche Ahnung, dass in der Modeindustrie einiges schiefläuft. Proportional zum Wissen über Geschichte und State of the Art der Textilindustrie weicht diese Ahnung ausgewachsenem Entsetzen. Also beschäftigen wir uns weiter damit und begeben uns auf eine transparente Suche nach besseren Lösungen.

 

EDOgoods. Do better.

 

 

-> FACTS
-> ONGOING MANIFESTO
-> EDO PRODUKTION UND METHODEN

Updating…
  • No products in the cart.